Please consider join a committee today by filling out the interest form! Thank you for supporting PHNAC!

Note: ad-hoc committees do not meet on a regular basis. Please contact the committee chair to find out when the meeting is. Non ad-hoc committees meet once a month (or a frequency determined by the chair of that committee).

Legislative & Policy

Chair: Penny Grande

  • Coordinate with the PHNAC lobbyist the process to set the PHNAC’s priority agenda (bills that we will monitor, actively support, or oppose). The lobbyist usually conducts a member survey in late fall to establish PHNAC’s priority agenda.
  • If the chair is not able to facilitate the meeting either the co‐chair or another member shall be asked to do so. The PHNAC lobbyist generally facilitates the discussion as well.
  • Members are welcomed to bring any pertinent bills to the attention of members and the lobbyist.
  • Coordinate legislative events such as the “Day at the Capitol” and the winter conference since it is scheduled with the Colorado Nurses Association’s Legislative dinner.
  • Coordinate with the lobbyist any member notification during the legislative session to encourage members’ need to contact their legislative representatives to support or oppose a bill.
Subscribe to PHNAC Legislative Committee
Visit this group

Trend, Advocacy & Research

Chair: Vacant

PHN Support & Development

Chair: Vicki Swarr

Marketing & Outreach

Chair: Margaret Huffman

  • Attend workgroup meetings
  • Monitor membership numbers and facilitate activities to promote membership renewal and recruitment during membership campaigns January and June.
  • Create a marketing plan for PHNAC and review on an annual basis
  • Advise and recommend changes to any membership categories to the Executive Board


Chair: Margaret Huffman

  • Attend workgroup meetings
  • Monitor and report membership numbers
  • Participate in member orientation program
  • Facilitate a new member meet and greet activity during the winter conference and annual fall meeting
  • Create a membership plan for PHNAC and review on an annual basis
  • Advise and recommend changes to any membership categories to the Executive Board

Bylaws (ad-hoc)

Chair: Carolyn Kwerneland

  • Meet as needed to review bylaws for clarification
  • Review recommended changes to bylaws from board or members
  • Bring recommended changes to business meetings for vote

Nominating and Awards (ad-hoc)

Chair: Carol McDonald

  • Meet with committee/workgroup members during the winter member meeting to discuss possible candidates for the open Executive Board positions
  • Assist in recommending and/or contacting possible candidates for open board positions
  • Review awards and nominations
  • As a workgroup decide on a process to make the final selection for the awards

Professional Education/PHiR Conference

Chair: Masayo Nishiyama

  • Keep PHNAC Executive Committee and members updated on plans, date and location of PHiR
  • Coordinate with the Colorado Public Health Association (CPHA) regarding Public Health in the Rockies (PHIR) conference activities
  • Coordinate with the Civica Project Managers for any events or conferences
  • Responsible for sharing leadership of PHiR planning committee and making decisions on behalf of PHNAC; assigned to oversee designated subcommittees on planning committee (this is still to be determined)
  • Attend all PHIR conference planning meetings or find a replacement; meetings start in the fall following the conference and continue monthly
  • Communicate to the PHNAC president conference or educational meeting agendas and any speaking obligations he/she may have during those events

Scholarship/Silent Auction (ad-hoc)

Chair: Stephanie Stark

  • Attend workgroup meetings via conference calls
  • Monitor and track the annual budget designated to the Scholarship funds and determine the amount and type of scholarships that are able to be offered
  • Review applications, determine which applicants meet the requirements, and decide on the recipients
  • Notify the applicants who are selected to receive a scholarship and those who are not selected as well